The feeling of “having written”

Interesting photo of a light bulb I took when I was first getting into photography. Inspiration works much like a light bulb, I think.

Interesting photo of a light bulb I took when I was first getting into photography. Inspiration works much like a light bulb, I think.

Earlier this week in my public relations management class, my professor said something that instantly struck a chord.

“I don’t like writing, but I like having written.”

I haven’t been able to quite describe how I feel about the writing process, and hearing this was spot on.

The writing process can be frustrating at first, but when you are inspired, it feels so rewarding when you’re done.

You see, ideas–and beautifully flowing sentences–are funny little things. Some days, you spend hours staring at a blank page or Word document feeling helpless trying to pluck the perfect words from an uncooperative brain. In a nutshell, that was me last night. Pure agony.

There is some compositional artistry in that brain of mine; I can feel it. I just can’t quite extract it.

Then, there are those nights. Those absolutely beautiful nights where, suddenly, the inspiration comes to you and the murkiness of writer’s block evaporates into thin air, leaving great ideas and lovely words within sight. That is me tonight.

It’s nearly 2 a.m., and I am wide awake with exhilaration from how proud I am of a piece I have just written. Of course, I spent 3 days trying to write it, but the spark didn’t come until tonight.

“Having written” is one of the best feelings in the world.

Now it is drafted, and I am satisfied. That is, until I start editing in the morning!

One thought on “The feeling of “having written”

What do you think?

