A new chapter: CSUF PRSSA Kickoff was a success!

Our goofy executive board photo! (Photo by Ikaika Photography)

Our goofy executive board photo! (Photo by Ikaika Photography)

Last night was my Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter’s first meeting of the school year. Hooray! This one in particular was important, because it was my very first event as an Executive Board member! 

This school year, I am the Publicity Director for Cal State Fullerton PRSSA. That means I am responsible for all of our written communication including social media, websites, PowerPoints, photos, and more! It is like doing public relations, well, for a public relations society. PR-ception!

Executive board dinner run after our weekend photo shoot last week!

Executive board dinner run after our weekend photo shoot last week!

I am so honored to have the opportunity to do what I love for an organization that has done so much for me. It has changed my life in so many positive ways. Throughout my membership (which has only been a year so far!), I have made new friends, expanded my network, and even gained two internships from volunteering/networking.

My goals for this year are to make our blog more active, make our website a resource for all PR students (not just chapter members), and engage more community discussion on our social media.

My Publicity Director headshot for our chapter website. (Photo by Ikaika Photography)

My Publicity Director headshot for our chapter website. (Photo by Ikaika Photography)

For myself, I hope to become a resource for students who aspire to grow into great PR pros–especially those who are on the fence about what PR is and how it compares to journalism. I originally was a journalism emphasis until I learned more about public relations through PRSSA and switched. Using that experience, I would love to help other students discover what their true passions are.

The ball is already rolling on these goals, since we are about to launch a campaign for PRSSA National Ethics Month next week!

 

I feel bad posting about public relations and PRSSA all the time on my social media channels. My friends and family must think I am crazy for loving what I do so much. I guess that’s what PR blogs are for, right?

How has a school organization changed your life?

PRSSA has definitely made a positive impact on mine, and I strive to help others too!

One thought on “A new chapter: CSUF PRSSA Kickoff was a success!

What do you think?

